For politics geeks, these are the first preference votes received by each candidate, listed alphabetically. Ignore the zero’s after the counts. Under the (somewhat complex) STV system, second and third preference votes by those who voted for unsuccessful candidates are then counted to determine the winner.

In seats where there were only two contestants — Otaki, Paekakariki, and the Kapiti seat on the GWRC — it’s same as in a ‘First Past the Post’ contest.


Waikanae (2 seats)

Paraparaumu (3 seats)

Districtwide (3 seats)