The Government has officially declared Kapiti and Horowhenua are now in the grips of a drought, along with other parts of the lower North Island.

Minister for Agriculture and Rural Communities Damien O’Connor today announced the fast-growing drought in parts of the lower North Island would be classified as a medium-scale adverse event. The areas declared are:

Region: Taranaki
• New Plymouth
• Stratford
• South Taranaki

Region: Manawatu-Whanganui
• Rangitikei
• Whanganui
• Manawatu
• Palmerston North
• Horowhenua

Region: Wellington
• Kapiti Coast
• Upper Hutt
• Lower Hutt
• Porirua
• Wellington

(NIWA pic)