Otaki seat

This is being held Tuesday 29th — the Tuesday after next — at 10:00 am in the Waikanae Community Centre (where WCB meetings are normally held).

The Otaki electorate includes all of Waikanae and some of Paraparaumu.  The two main contenders are as in 2014: incumbent Nathan Guy (National) and Rob McCann (Labour).

There will be candidates for the Green Party and NZ First, too.  Although they have no chance of winning the seat, they may be on the party list (we haven’t checked) and the party vote is ultimately what determines the next government.

For those interested in the registered parties and election rules, the official elections website is here.